Maumee Watershed Conservancy District

About Us

Maumee Watershed Conservancy District is a legal subdivision of the State of Ohio created under Section 6101 of the ORC

The Maumee Watershed Conservancy District territory includes 15 counties: Allen, Auglaize, Defiance, Fulton, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Lucas, Mercer, Paulding, Putnam, Shelby, Van Wert, Williams and Wood. District projects consist of flood risk reduction streams and improved drainage projects.

District Activities are established by a Conservancy Court of 15 Judges

The Conservancy Court consists of Judges from the Court of Common Pleas in the 15 counties included in the Maumee Watershed. Directors, Staff and Appraisers carry out the District plan. Conservancy Court and Board Meeting notices are posted in the newspaper of the County of Orgin (Defiance Crescent News) or can be obtained by calling our office.

Operation and Maintenance

MWCD performs annual operation and maintenance programs to protect and sustain District works and environmental mitigation features. Operation and Maintenance activities include: log jam removals, erosion control, mowing, herbicide  application and surface and subsurface drainage.

Contact Us

Drop us a line!

Hancock County Flood-Risk Program

Maumee Watershed Conservancy District

1464 Pinehurst Dr. Defiance, OH 4352

(419) 782-8746

Office Hours

Monday - Friday: 7am - 3pm

Closed on Holidays